Learning in the Heartland

Virtual Field Trip Program for Early Childhood

Learning in the Heartland Graphic

Bring books to life with virtual field trips and activities.

These short exciting field trips help inspire questions, problem-solving, and observation to help children remember concepts longer.

This program provides all caregivers, preschool teachers, and parents with books, virtual tours, art, and physical activities along with music. We hope you enjoy this website to access high-quality content with curated books and activities for extending children’s learning on about community helpers and services. Children will demonstrate an increased familiarity with doctors, police officers, firefighters, veterinarians, and greenhouse managers through developmentally appropriate indicators.

Fire Drill Book Cover.

Fire Drill

By Paul DuBois Jacobs
and Jennifer Swender

Let’s explore fire drills and meet a firefighter!

Download this Learning in the Heartland Guide

Patrolling Police Cars Book Cover.

Patrolling Police Cars

By Tony Mitton

Let’s learn about a police car and meet a police person!

Coming Soon!

Planting a Rainbow Book Cover.

Planting a Rainbow

By Lois Ehlert

Let’s learn how to plant a seed and visit a greenhouse.

Download this Learning in the Heartland Guide

Go to the Doctor Book Cover.

Go to the Doctor

By Stan & Jan Berenstain

Let’s explore a doctor's office and meet a nurse.

Download this Learning in the Heartland Guide

Viscuit Visits the Doctor Book Cover.

Biscuit Visits the Doctor

By Gina Bellisario

Let's explore a veterinarian's office and meet the staff.

Coming Soon!

Learning in the Heartland Resources

This program is available as a supplement for preschool teachers and caregivers based on their current curriculum and for families to engage in conversation with their children.

You will find:

  • Teacher Outlines
  • Virtual Field Trip
  • Story Book Reading
  • Physical Activity
  • Hands On Activity
  • Music
  • Center Activity Ideas
  • Family Letter

For Questions

Fit and Healthy Kids:fhk@unl.edu

Join our Listserv

Our Partners

Nebraska Extension Logo. South Dakota State University Extension Logo. Iowa Child Care Resource and Referral Logo. K-State State Research and Extension Logo. Nebraska Early Learning Connection Logo. 4-H Logo.

Who We Are

Photo of daisies.

Dawn Badker

Iowa Child Care Resource & Referral Training Specialist

dbadker@midsioux.org

Jentry Barrett Portrait.

Jentry Barrett

Project Manager,
INSIGHTS in Nebraska

jbarrett3@unl.edu

Tristen Cope Portrait.

Tristen Cope

Extension Agent,
Family and Consumer Science

tcope@ksu.edu

Erika Fink Portrait.

Erika Fink

Northern ELC Coordinator

efink@esu1.org

Mike Kamm Portrait.

Mike Kamm

Electronic Media Specialist

mkamm2@unl.edu

Erin Kampbell Portrait.

Erin Kampbell

Extension Educator,
Early Childhood

ekampbell7@unl.edu

Amy Napoli Portrait.

Amy Napoli

Assistant Professor and Early Childhood Extension Specialist

amynapoli@unl.edu

Monique Ortiz Portrait.

Monique Ortiz

Iowa Child Care Resource & Referral Professional Development Specialist

mortiz@midsioux.org

Sarah Paisley Portrait.

Sarah Paisley

Extension Educator,
4-H Youth Development

spaisley3@unl.edu

Lisa Poppe Portrait.

Lisa Poppe

Extension Educator,
Early Childhood

lisa.poppe@unl.edu

Linda Reddish Portrait.

Linda Reddish

Extension Educator,
Early Childhood

linda.reddish@unl.edu

Audrey Rider Portrait.

Audrey Rider

Early Childhood Field Specialist,
SDSU Extension

audrey.rider@
sdstate.edu

Chelsea Sokol Portrait.

Chelsea Sokol

Early Childhood Consultant

LaDonna Werth Portrait.

LaDonna Werth

Extension Educator
Early Childhood

lwerth2@unl.edu

Kim Wellsandt Portrait.

Kim Wellsandt

Office Assistant
Early Childhood

kim.wellsandt@unl.edu

Mary Spath Portrait.

Mary Spath

Office Manager
Dodge County Extension

mspath@unl.edu

Kelli Knox Portrait.

Kelli Knox

Office Manager
Holt County Extension

kelli.knox@unl.edu

Donna Bernt Portrait.

Donna Bernt

Office Manager
Boyd County Extension

donna.bernt@unl.edu